Various - Choubi Choubi! Folk And Pop Sounds From Iraq Vol. 1

  • Singer: Various
  • Album's title: Choubi Choubi! Folk And Pop Sounds From Iraq Vol. 1
  • Genre: Rock, Folk, World, & Country
  • Label: Sublime Frequencies ‎– SF025LP
    Series: Folk And Pop Sounds From Iraq – Vol. 1
    Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP Vinyl, 7", 33 ⅓ RPM All Media, Compilation, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered
    Country: US
    Date of released: 2014
    Category: Rock, Folk, World, & Country
    Style: Folk, Folk Rock
  • Size MP3 ZIP: 1874 mb
  • Size FLAC ZIP: 1832 mb
  • Rating: 4.0/5
  • Votes: 534
Various - Choubi Choubi! Folk And Pop Sounds From Iraq Vol. 1


A1 Souad Hussein Ensemble Oh Mother, The Handsome Man Tortures Me 4:00
A2 Diyaa Hussein Al Hecha (The Hecha) 5:52
A3 Amal Khodeir Yal Ghali (Precious One) 3:36
A4 Souad Abdullah Ahl Al Aqil (Oh, People Of Reason) 3:38
B1 Unknown Artist Bezikh Introduction 0:35
B2 Souad Abdullah Yumma Al Helou (Mother, He's Beautiful) 3:56
B3 Mohammed Al Madloul Qa Choubi (On The Choubi) 6:17
B4 Bawin Ya Binaya Goumi (Oh Girl, Stand Up) 5:33
C1 Sadoun Jabir* Ashhad Biannak Hilou (I Admit You Are Beautiful) 3:00
C2 Samira Al-Amir Al Ghetra Wa Al Zabon (The Khafiya & The Cloak) 3:46
C3 Unknown Artist Ya Yumma (Oh, Mother) 3:01
C4 Salah Abdel Ghafour* Wallah (By God) 6:30
D1 Ahmad Al Indibat Guitar Choubi 5:23
D2 Souad Abdullah Choubi Choubi (Aka: Seya Seya) 2:52
D3 Sajida Obeid Ala Honak (Take It Easy) 6:45
D4 Souad Abdullah Ayna 2:40
E1 Ja'afar Hassan* علموني They Taught Me 4:15
E2 Ja'afar Hassan* ذات بوم Once A Day 3:44
F1 Ja'afar Hassan* فلسطينية Palestinian 2:22
F2 Ja'afar Hassan* جبهوية Front My Hope 5:38


  • Compiled By, Edited By, Producer, Liner Notes – Mark Gergis
  • Design [LP Gatefold], Layout – Ayesha Keshani, Mark Gergis
  • Design [Original Front Cover Design] – Mark Gergis, Miles Stegall


This edition features re-mastered, and in some cases, completely restored audio, revised and updated liner-notes with new artist and track information, plus four additional tracks not featured in the first CD issue.

Packaged in gatefold jacket with separate full color sleeve for the 7".

Tracks E1 to F2 originally released on Hassan's LP لنغنِِ معا = Let's Sing Together

Thanks to Abbas Kadhim for translations, information and calligraphy.
Thank you: Alan Bishop, Peter Gergis, Rezan Yusuf, Aliaa Howieja, James Longley, Chris Khoury, Mike Khoury, Hisham Mayet, Liz Allbee, David Martinez, Brently Pusser and the Iraqi taxi drivers in Syria - circa 2000.

Track C2 is spelled with a hyphen on the label: "Al Ghetra Wa Al-Zabon"

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 613505880420

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SF025 Various Choubi Choubi! Folk And Pop Songs From Iraq ‎(CD, Comp) Sublime Frequencies SF025 US 2005
SF1025CD Various Choubi Choubi! Folk And Pop Songs From Iraq, Vol. 1 ‎(2xCD, Comp, RE) Sublime Frequencies SF1025CD US 2014


Related music: