Jean-Luc Ponty - Canteloupe Island

  • Singer: Jean-Luc Ponty
  • Album's title: Canteloupe Island
  • Genre: Jazz, Rock
  • Label: Blue Note ‎– BN-LA632-H2
    Series: The Blue Note Re-Issue Series –
    Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation
    Country: US
    Date of released: 1976
    Category: Jazz, Rock
    Style: Fusion, Jazz-Rock
  • Size MP3 ZIP: 1636 mb
  • Size FLAC ZIP: 1527 mb
  • Rating: 4.1/5
  • Votes: 432
Jean-Luc Ponty - Canteloupe Island

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 King Kong 4:54
A2 Idiot Bastard Son 4:00
A3 Twenty Small Cigars 5:35
A4 How Would You Like To Have A Head Like That 7:14
B1 Music For Electric Violin And Low Budget Orchestra 19:20
B2 America Drinks And Goes Home 2:39
C1 Foosh
Written-By – G. Duke*
C2 Pamukkale
Written-By – W. Dauner*
C3 Contact 7:03
D1 Canteloupe Island
Written-By – H. Hancock*
D2 Starlight, Starbright
Written-By – J. B. Eisinger*

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.
  • Manufactured By – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.
  • Recorded At – Thee Experience, Hollywood
  • Published By – Frank Zappa Music, Inc.
  • Published By – Munchkin Music
  • Published By – Unart Music Corp.
  • Published By – Mycenae Music Co.
  • Published By – Evilot Music Inc.
  • Published By – Hancock Music Company


  • Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone – Ernie Watts (tracks: A2 to A4, B2)
  • Arranged By – Frank Zappa (tracks: A1 to B2)
  • Bass – Buell Neidlinger (tracks: A1, B1)
  • Bass [Fender] – Wilton Felder (tracks: A2 to A4, B2)
  • Bassoon – Donald Christlieb* (tracks: B1)
  • Cello – Harold Bemko (tracks: B1)
  • Composed By – F. Zappa* (tracks: A1 to A3, B1, B2), Jean-Luc Ponty (tracks: A4, C3)
  • Conductor – Ian Underwood (tracks: B1)
  • Drums – Arthur D. Tripp III* (tracks: A1, B1), Dick Berk (tracks: C1 to D2), John Guerin (tracks: A2 to A4, B2)
  • Electric Bass – John Heard (tracks: C1 to D2)
  • Electric Piano – George Duke
  • Engineer – David Brand (tracks: C1 to D2), Dick Kune* (tracks: A1 to B2)
  • Featuring – Zappa*, George Duke, Ian Underwood
  • Flute – Jonathan Meyer (tracks: B1)
  • French Horn, Recorder [Descant] – Vincent DeRosa (tracks: B1)
  • French Horn, Tuba [Tuben] – Arthur Maebe* (tracks: B1)
  • Guitar – Frank Zappa (tracks: A4)
  • Lacquer Cut By – Eck* (tracks: A1 to A4)
  • Liner Notes – Leonard Feather
  • Oboe, English Horn – Gene Cipriano (tracks: B1)
  • Piano [Acoustic] – George Duke (tracks: B1)
  • Producer – Dick Bock*
  • Reissue Producer – Michael Cuscuna
  • Tenor Saxophone – Ian Underwood (tracks: A1)
  • Vibraphone [Vibes], Percussion – Gene Estes (tracks: A1)
  • Viola – Milton Thomas (tracks: B1)
  • Violin [Baritone Violectra] – Jean-Luc Ponty (tracks: A1 to A4, B2)
  • Violin [Electric Violin] – Jean-Luc Ponty


"Originally recorded on Pacific Jazz while Ponty was with Frank Zappa's Mothers of Invention, the electric violinist is showcased here as an important instrument of fusion between jazz and rock."

Sides One and Two recorded October 6, 7 and 8, 1969.
Sides Three and Four recorded live at Thee Experience in Hollywood in September, 1969.

Sides One and Two previously issued as Pacific Jazz ST-20172 (King Kong: Jean-Luc Ponty Plays The Music Of Frank Zappa).
Sides Three and Four previously issued as Pacific Jazz ST-20168 (Jean-Luc Ponty and George Duke Trio - The Jean-Luc Ponty Experience).

©UAMARG, Inc. [front cover and inside gatefold]
©℗MCMLXXVI United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc. [back cover]
℗1976 United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc. [labels]

A1, A2, B2 Frank Zappa Music, Inc. BMI
A3, B1 Munchkin Music ASCAP
A4, C3, D2 Unart Music Corporation BMI
C1 Mycenae Music Co. ASCAP
C2 Evilot Music, Inc. ASCAP
D1 Hancock Music Co. BMI

Gatefold sleeve.
Catalog numbers: BN-LA632-H2 on the inside gatefold and labels, BN-LA632-H2 _0879 on the jacket spine

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, etched): 33 BN-LA632-1 EcK
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, etched): OO BN-LA632-2 BE
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, etched): OO BN-LA632-3-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, etched): OO BN-LA632-4-
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Price Code (Printed on jacket spine): 0798

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
BND 4018 Jean-Luc Ponty Canteloupe Island ‎(2xLP, Comp) Blue Note BND 4018 UK 1976
L 45713/4 (BN-LA 632-H2) Jean-Luc Ponty Canteloupe Island ‎(2xLP, Comp, RE) The Blue Note Re-Issue Series L 45713/4 (BN-LA 632-H2) Australia 1976
BN-LA632-H2 Jean-Luc Ponty Canteloupe Island ‎(2xLP, Comp) Blue Note BN-LA632-H2 US 1976
BGOCD706 Jean-Luc Ponty Canteloupe Island ‎(2xCD, Comp, RE) BGO Records BGOCD706 UK 2006
BN-LA632-H2 Jean-Luc Ponty Canteloupe Island ‎(2xLP, Comp) Blue Note BN-LA632-H2 Canada 1976


Jean-Luc Ponty - Canteloupe Island listening: where to download for free?

You can currently download the Jean-Luc Ponty - Canteloupe Island album for free in mp3, flac formats at It is also possible to buy "Jean-Luc Ponty - Canteloupe Island" on Amazon, Discogs as listen or rent it on Spotify, Apple Music.

Related music: